Jumping Off the Side of the Pool

A few months ago, I witnessed a mother with a young girl at a pool.  The mother was trying to get the daughter to jump off the side into the mother’s arms in the pool.  The daughter was afraid.  The mother assured her, “I’m not going to let anything happen to you.  I’m never going to let anything happen to you.  You know that, don’t you?”  And I wanted to yell, “Liar!  Liar!”  (a la Valerie, Miracle Max’s wife in The Princess Bride)  True, mother, you probably won’t let any harm come to your daughter in this moment when she jumps into the pool, but you will not be able to save her from anything bad happening to her ever in her life.  So don’t tell her you’re never going to let anything happen to her.  Don’t lead her to believe that she will never have anything to be afraid of.  Don’t lead her to believe she’ll make it through life without anything bad ever happening to her.  I wished she had said, “Don’t be afraid.  I’ll catch you.  Trust me.” 

Living a life of faith doesn’t earn us a protective shield against bad stuff happening to us.  God never promised, “I’m never going to let anything happen to you.”  Jesus is exhibit A for that.  And faith doesn’t cancel out fear.  Even with the strongest faith, there’s still plenty in this world that is fear-worthy.  But God does promise that the bad stuff doesn’t get the last word.  And faith in that promise is what helps us cope with the bad stuff.  Faith in that promise helps to prevent us from being paralyzed by our fear.  Faith in that promise is what helps us jump of the side of the pool when God says, “Don’t be afraid.  I’ll catch you.  Trust me.*” 

*Can’t resist the gratuitous nephew story here.  A couple years ago when my nephew was probably about 4 years old, I was trying to convince him of something and I said, “Trust me.  I’m a pastor.”  He thought it was hysterical (though he didn’t really have a clue what it meant) and repeated several times over the next couple days.  “Twust me.  I’m a pastaw.” (he couldn’t quite say his R’s back then…)

About revmeghandavis

Former theatre professional turned pastor, now living the life in my first call as Minster of Word and Sacrament in the PC(USA) in Longview, Washington. I'm a certified yoga instructor and teach Christian yoga at my church. In my spare time (ha!) I run, garden, perform in community theatre productions and watch entirely too much TV (most of which is too embarrassing to name).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jumping Off the Side of the Pool

  1. Alexi Abarca says:

    I really love the whole idea of God being there with us through the bad things. I feel like sometimes it is so easy to go through life upset when a bad circumstance arises, thinking that God isn’t there for us, but he’s proven to me time and time again that he never gives us more than he knows we can handle.

Comments are closed.